Single Story.

Chimamanda Negozi Adichie, author of Americanah (2013), warns us about the misunderstandings of a “single story” in her TED talk: The danger of a single story.  Adichie explains in her talk that, “The single story creates stereotypes, and the problem with stereotypes is not that they are untrue, but that they are incomplete.  They make one story become the only story.”  I agree with Adichie that these stereotypes are not in anyway complete.  When I think of the single story I think of confirmation bias; however, it also includes when individuals choose to ignore the information.  Science Daily defines confirmation bias as a tendency to search for or interpret information in a way that confirms one’s preconceptions, leading to statistical errors [1].  Furthermore Jamaica Kincaid, professor of African and African American Studies in Residence at Havard University, writes in On Seeing England for the First Time“The space between the idea of something and its reality is always wide and deep and dark.”  This compliments when Adichie explains that the stereotypes are incomplete [2].

Screen Shot 2016-01-31 at 10.10.09 PM
A map of the water levels taken from US Geological Survey

 

I have been talking about Bell Canyon in my last two post.  I’ve decided to look deeper into the environmental effects of the canyon.  In my first post, I talked about how the reservoir water had sunk.  And in my second post, I wrote about how this body of water was a protected watershed.  According to the map above by the U. S. Geological Survey, there has been a huge decrease from 14 feet to 7 feet below ground in 10 years around the area of Bell Canyon[3].  Soon this protected area will have nothing to preserve if the trend continues.  In the Bell Canyon Master Plan, there is a consistent proposals of protecting the watershed; however, there is no much mention about a concrete plan.  I agree with The Community Development Department when they recommend in the master plan to seek out and apply for available state and federal grants.  This can help with the watershed preservation of the canyon and help with finance the canyon may have not had.

In my second post, I said that the environmental effects could also be from overuse of land.  While overuse of the land by hikers could add to the loss of water.  I must point out that according to map above, the water had already started to decrease before Bell Canyon was open to hikers in 1997 [4].

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Picture of Bell Canyon Stream taken from seekraz.wordpress.com

While we are on the topic of water level, I want to point out the impacts it has caused to individual lives.  Salt Lake County search and rescue commander Alan Bergstrom warns hikers: “A route up the south bank of the creek leads to a clearing where the stream appears narrow, just before the drop-off.  In late summer and fall, the crossing may be less hazardous.  But in spring and early summer, when water levels are high, splashing water and slick rock create a hazard that has claimed two lives in fives years. [4]”  There is a risk that these hikers take when they chose to cross a stream with high, splashing water and slippery rocks.  When I hike this trail to the first waterfall and encounter this stream, and there is a high water enables me to cross.  I just continue downstream until I am able to cross, avoiding me to put myself at higher risk.

 

 

  1. http://www.sciencedaily.com/terms/confirmation_bias.htm
  2. https://avkannan
    .expressions.syr.edu/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/Kinkaid_On-Seeing-England-for-the-First-Time.pdf
  3. http://groundwaterwatch.usgs.gov/countymap.asp?sa=UT&cc=035
  4. http://www.sltrib.com/home/2666809-155/in-utahs-bells-canyon-taking-in

 

Leave a Reply

