Final Portfolio

PART ONE

Hiking

A memorable story of Bell Canyon hiking trail in Sandy City, Utah.  This piece of writing is my eye-witness account of the ecological impacts that are changing the water level of this trail.

Ecological Change at Bell Canyon Trail

Discusses the ecological impacts that are happening to the Bell Canyon Trail.  First hand account of the ecological impacts to Bell Canyon are shown.  Furthermore, there are statistics support thing eye-witness claim.  Leading to the question of how can we still preserve this specific site; and more so, how can we preserve sites like this around the world.

Interview Proposal + Interview with Roger McCabe

An interview proposal and the interview transcript with Roger McCabe, who is a retired musician local to Central New York.  The transcript reveals the scope of my investigation of Woodstock and the time around then.  During the interview, Roger McCabe talked about his musical career, his experience before Vietnam, and when his band (The Jumpin Jax) declined an invitation to play at the Woodstock Music and Art Fair in 1969.

Biography of Roger McCabe

A biography of Roger McCabe, a musician native to Central New York.  This biography talks about his early life, his experience before Vietnam, his band being invited to the Woodstock Music and Art Fair, and his personal life.

Reflection

These four pieces of writing shown here are debatably my favorite when writing during this semester in WRT 205.

From Hiking, I liked how we were able to take a memory of a place we had strong ties too and develop it into a piece of research writing.  I believe that the story here makes the individuals who are reading this writing actually care—the individual (audience) almost has a stake in the preservation of the Bell Canyon Trail.  This is something that I would really want to become stronger at when writing in the future.  I want to be able to construct strong anecdotes at the beginning of my writing to help engage the audience; as well as, make me (the writer) and the audience to care about the piece of writing.

The continuation of the memory lead into the development of a research piece: Ecological Changes at Bell Canyon Trail.  Aside from the anecdote at the beginning of this piece, I really liked the statistical data and research that I found about the site of Bell Canyon Trail, and the area around it.  While looking for research was hard to find because the hiking trail that I chose was such a specific spot, I still managed to find strong information about the Bell Canyon Trail and the area around it.  When I managed to find statistical date of water depth level around the Bell Canyon area, it really helped confirm my observation of the ecological changed made through my anecdote at the beginning of this piece of writing.  Furthermore, I realized that statistics are really good in aiding research writing; and thinking about it now, there are many types of research papers (that I had read) that include statistics on the topic.  When writing research papers in the future, one of the first things that I am going to do is to look up statistics on the topic in question.

I also really enjoyed having the interview with Roger McCabe, and writing the transcript for the interview.  More so, I just like having the interview with Roger McCabe—I thought that he was a really cool guy with a lot of interesting stories to share.  I believe that my biggest strength was patience during the interview and, especially, when I was transcribing the interview with Roger McCabe.  He had a lot of interesting stories and experiences to talk about, and time was limited—since, I drove out to Utica (which is about a 45 minutes to an hour drive from Syracuse) to conduct the interview with Roger McCabe.  As for my weaknesses, I could have done a better job at developing better initial question for Roger McCabe.  In order words, I felt that I could have done a little better at preparation before the interview with him.  Furthermore, interviews can be extremely helpful to add to pieces of writing.

Lastly, the Biography of Roger McCabe (a retired local musician native to CNY) was extremely exciting to write.  I thought that it was a relatively creative genre of writing (for me) to use, and it brought the ideas of local histories/ stories into one of my last pieces of writing.  While writing the biography of Roger McCabe, I wanted to include everything about Roger McCabe’s life—since, his life and stories were so interesting.  However, I realized (after Vani told me) that I didn’t need to write the whole biography of all of Roger McCabe’s life and to scope the biography with the information that I already had from the initial interview.  Nevertheless, when changing the genre of my topic I need to talk/interview Roger McCabe again; however, I just e-mailed him for more information regarding his life rather than driving out to Utica again.  I felt that my weaknesses here were organization and preparation.  When writing the biography, I was having a hard time as to what to put into the biography about Roger McCabe.  I managed to talk about his early and personal life, as well as his musical career and stories along with it.  As for preparation, I wouldn’t have had to attempt to conduct a second interview or send the e-mail to Roger McCabe if I was better prepared with questions.  If I had stronger initial question, I wouldn’t have had to e-mail Roger McCabe again.

 

PART TWO

Library Visit

A reflection of a visit to Bird Library at Syracuse University and exploring the special (archival) collection.  This second visit revealed to me the variety of potential sources that can be used for research.

Interview Proposal + Interview with Roger McCabe

An interview proposal and the interview transcript with Roger McCabe, who is a retired musician local to Central New York.  The transcript reveals the scope of my investigation of Woodstock and the time around then.  During the interview, Roger McCabe talked about his musical career, his experience before Vietnam, and when his band (The Jumpin Jax) declined an invitation to play at the Woodstock Music and Art Fair in 1969.

03.21.2016 – Homework Post

A reflection of an interview found in a literature source on the internet.  The interview was of two individuals who attended the Woodstock Music and Art Fair in 1969.  The second part of this post are noted that I took on the documentary made in 1970 on Woodstock—titled: Woodstock

Woodstock Music and Art Fair in 1969

This piece of writing talks about the Woodstock Music and Art Fair in 1969, and explores the preparation of Woodstock.  The venue for the Woodstock Festival was changing up close to the performance date of the event.  Furthermore, this post talks about the different political and social threads attached to the Woodstock Festival.  In the end leading into the story of Roger McCabe and his band during the time of the Woodstock Music and Art Fair.

Reflection

Reflecting back to when I was conducting research for this semester, I realized all the different sources that I pulled from.  I also found myself very dependent on online sources from search engines to databases.  As the semester proceeded, I found myself identifying and thinking about the rhetorical model, audience, genre, and stakeholders.  I felt myself looking for these things while reading and conducting my research.

During the library visit, I found myself with mass amounts of archival documents and information.  This is a type of source that I can draw from in future research investigation for a particular subject.  I have visited the library special collections before; however, it wasn’t until my second visit to appreciate the mass amounts of information there.  During our library visit, I learned about the local information of Syracuse along with music, politics, economics, place, etc.

In my post with the interview proposal and the interview with Roger McCabe, I found myself using different sources for preparation and different methods to retrieve information from him.  I learned a lot about Roger McCabe and the time around then when having the interview with him, and when transcribing the interview.  I looked up sources about Woodstock and tried to scope my interview questions with Roger McCabe to that topic.  When changing this genre into a biography, I needed to get more information from Roger McCabe.  Initial I had an interview with Roger McCabe, the second time I got more information from him was through e-mail.  Both methods helped get facts and information of Roger McCabe’s life to complete my biography.  In my future writing, I believe that I will continue to conduct relevant interviews to further my investigation.

In this homework post, I used two different sources during my research.  I found an article that was basically a transcript of an interview of two individuals who attended the Woodstock and Music Fair in 1969.  I felt that reading an interview could help me conduct my own interview with Roger McCabe.  The second part of this post are my notes on the full length documentary of Woodstock made in 1970.  The was a good source to obtain information because at the time, I was getting tired of reading about Woodstock and the history around then and just wanted to watch/listen to something.  Instead of reading more articles and information about the Woodstock Music and Art Fair, I changed methods to watching a movie and listening to the information in the documentary.  I learned a lot from watching the documentary; the movie allowed me to understand what was happening during the time of Woodstock.  In the future, if I ever get tired of reading anything I am just going to watch videos about it—YouTube has everything.

Finally, I used many different sources for my research of the Woodstock Music and Art Fair in 1969.  I used articles, peer-reviewed papers, transcribed interviews, archival research, documentaries, pictures, and others.  These are different types of sources that I can use in future writings.  The piece of writing not only shows the varieties of sources that we can use in research, but this writing reveals a lot of information regarding activism, economics, politics, etc.  These are strong research information that can aid in your topic of investigation.  In the future, using a variety of strong sources and asking questions of economics, politics, culture, etc. can help further my writing; as well as, identifying the rhetoric situations, audience, genre, and stakeholders.

Leave a Reply

